Home > Education Issues > Learning is Not Linear

Learning is Not Linear

June 25, 2008

I was watching our six month old play this morning and realized how he is taking information. His brain is not in an orderly fashion, but works in a random events, connected by countless links to other pieces of information (sound familiar?).

So, this challenges the idea that learning is a linear process, much like we teach it in the traditional college environment. In other words, we start at point A and move to point B, etc…learning is not this way…at least in the six month old brain. I am willing to bet that it’s the same for all of us…we are just TAUGHT differently.

Where does this lead me? Not sure yet, but I am beginning to rethink how I do things in an educational context.

Categories: Education Issues Tags: , ,
